New system restarts itself at operating system boot screen

jfina

Beta member
Hey all,

This is my first time I've tried to build a system in 5 years since I built my first computer. I'm thoroughly confused on what's happening, but it seems to restart itself continually.

To make a long story short, here's what happens:
1. System gets through POST
2. I'm asked to select my operating system (pick Windows 7 x86)
3. I am asked if I want to perform startup recovery (or, this step is missing depending on if I previously ran the recovery - in essence, this does nothing)
4. Windows 7 load screen will appear, a few pixels of the graphic appear before the system restarts itself.
5. I curse and throw something at the dog

Here is my setup and here is what I've changed hardware wise:

MoBo: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UDL - new
Processor: Pentium E5300 dualcore 2.60 Ghz
RAM: 4GB (2gb x 2) OCZ PC2 6400 DDR2 (these worked on another machine and I've switched the RAM out on this box with some older DDR2 - still get the same problem, so I don't think it's this)
Video Card: GeForce FX 5500 (I know this is old, I didn't realize the motherboard didn't have onboard video card, so I'm going to pick up a new card eventually)
HD: Western Digital WD Caviar SD 250GB
Power Supply: Bestec ATX-250-12Z (250W max)

Here are my hypothesis:

1. I need to try installing Windows 7 x64 instead of the x86
2. The old video card is not compatible and is forcing the system to restard
3. The power supply, which is old, needs to be replaced? (I'm less inclined to believe this because I would think the system just wouldn't turn on if there's a problem with the power supply)

If someone could offer some sort of validation to these hypothesis or perhaps give me a good idea of what to look for so I don't go spending a bunch more on this system unnecessarily... I would greatly appreciate it!

You DO NOT have enough power. change your power supply to something, preferably with 400 watts or more.