New PC Builder - Asking Advice

Z3ro Flaw

Beta member
This is my first time building a computer. I have replaced a CPU, Power Supply, Mobo and RAM before in my existing computer after they have broke. What I am mainly looking for are any possible oversights that a new builder may be missing.

Are there conflicts with the RAM not being supported with the mobo?

Any suggestions on whats a good thermal paste to use for your CPU?

Does my new rig setup allow for some overclocking?

I have never overclocked anything before but I was mainly wanting to buff up my CPU speed (at some point) with the aftermarket cpu heat sink to above 3.0 ghz as safely as I could with just the case fans and cpu sink.

I also may use a second video card so I wanted to make sure that my power supply was going to have enough juice to support added peripherals.

-COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower

-MSI X58 Eclipse SLI LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard

-Intel Core i7 940 Nehalem 2.93GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor

-SAPPHIRE 100251SR Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB 512-bit (256-bit x 2) GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported

-Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1000 1000W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

-G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory

-Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31000340AS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

-SAMSUNG 22X DVD Burner Black SATA Model SH-S223F

-Creative 70SB046A00000 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional Series

-Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit

- Thermaltake V1 Max-Performance CPU Cooler with Massive 110mm Blue LED Full-Range Variable Speed Fan Intel Core i7 Extreme Edition & Core i7 Ready LGA 1366 CL-P0401

Thank you for taking the time to look at my thread and provide feedback. :D