New Member requires help

ramisees

Beta member
Hi All

I am a retired engineer and have built my own systems for the past several years. It's fairly easy to put all the parts together, the problem is when one of those parts misbehaves.
My latest was built about three years ago, Asus P6T, i7 920, GTX 580, Corsair DDr3, Antec case. 850w PSU. Couple of HDD drives sata.
Win 7 64bit home.
This has been a good trouble free computer, I do a lot of flight simming and it handles it with no problem.
However, it has started to take a couple of power ups before it goes into boot sequence. I get the very first message top left of screen, then nothing. Re-power up, sometimes it will boot ok, if not power up again. This time , initial message top left of screen , then bottom middle screen "express gate message" then continues with AMD info and boot sequence info, I have quick boot disabled. Win7 loads up and from then on I have no problems. The computer is on for at least 14 hours every day, it handles anything I can throw at it. If it is turned off or re started for any reason it will re boot as it should. It is only when it has been off overnight it will not boot properly.
I have given it a good spring clean, checked all connections, cleaned out PSU of dust, re seated all ram modules, re seated all cards. This made no difference.
I have a couple of thoughts that it might be one of the speed monitored fans, one in the PSU or the other for the water cooling. I have two fans for the water cooling unit in case one packs up, only one is connected to the CPU fan connector, the other is connected to a spare 12v supply. Could it be the cmos battery? It appears something is not working properly on 1st boot up when system is cold, when things get warm ,no problems.
Any thoughts will be greatly appreciated.

AMD info? It's an Intel system... with an nVidia video card. :blink: