New computer parts :)

Kage

Golden Master
I'm a newbie here. Saw the site and thoguht it luks quite kewl, so i signed up, So Hi to you all :)

I've recently updated my videocard to a Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 pro 128mb, and it has worked wonders with games, but i think my CPU is lagging it down (Well i'm pretty certain)

1) I have a Gigabyte made AMD based 4x AGP motherboard,
2) an AMD Athlon Thunderbird 1.2 GHZ CPU (rather crusty i know)
3) Creative Sound Blaster Live! soundcard
4) 40 GB 7200 rpm Harddrive
3) 512 MB DDR ram
4) Running on Windows XP Service pack 2.

I hope to update to a AMD Athlon 64 3400+ CPU, which means i'll have to change my motherboard too (one with a 8x AGP) that supports the CPU. I have been looking on MicroDirect and i think I have found the ones i want:

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInfo.aspx?ProductID=5366&GroupID=409

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInfo.aspx?ProductID=4903&GroupID=302

How much of a difference do you think i'll expect from the improvements?
In Half life 2, i'm getting about 58 fps, at 640x480, running at medium quality, 0x antia, 16x Antistro (still jerks though in places).
Doom 3 runs, but rather jerky, and slow, a rate which is almost impossible to play, on medium settings. (Sound stuttering always follows after it has jerked on both). i'd like to have games playing rather smoothly at rather high/medium settings on future titles in the the next 2 years or so as I don't want to keep updating...
I also wouldn't mind a bit of a boost when it comes to 3D Rendering! :|

I'm also a tad bit worried about the CPU temperature and what it would be like... getting about 52 degrees at the moment running from a 70x70 fan diameter, 3,000 rpm cooler as I would rather have my system running as quiet as possible (my mum has ears like a bat :p), at the moment, about 31db (It used to sound like a jet engine)
+ I have no idea how to set up a water cooled system, and would be afraid to try