New to building a desktop and in need of serious help

newbie_bewbie

Beta member
Hello! I should start off by saying that I have never built a computer before nor do I exactly understand what each part of the computer does. With that said, I have put together a mixture of parts that I have either read online or someone has suggested to me in hopes that I would be able to put something decent together that could get the job done. Although I'm not even sure if they'd all work together, the parts I have taken a look at are:

-Intel Core i7-2600 Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor
-CORSAIR XMS 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)
-SAPPHIRE Vapor-X 100283VX-2L Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT)
-ASUS M4A88TD-M/USB3 AM3 AMD 880G SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD
-Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
-Antec NSK 4482B Black 0.8mm cold rolled steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 380W Power Supply
-LITE-ON DVD/CD WRITER Black SATA Model iHAS524-T98A

This is a few hundred above what I am looking to spend, however, I am looking to be able to run (not necessarily all at once) the Adobe Suite programs, CAD programs, Maya, etc, so I understand the cost will be above what I would like. So, if anyone has any suggestions or tips on where I can reduce the cost or anything please let me know, I am completely lost in this process so anything helps, Thanks!

You dont need a cpu that powerful for what you need done. I think you should just go with a amd processor. They aren't as powerful as an i7. The best amd processor costs about 320 and is as powerful as one of the i5 lintel processors. And an amd mother board is cheaper then a lntel board. Intel has high end parts for gamers. So start looking into amd that will bring your price down.
And by the way that mother board is for a amd processor. That means you cant put an Intel in the socket.