Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 05-10-2011, 01:12 AM   #1
Solid State Member

Default New to building

Hello, I am new to building computers and I hope to build one soon. I was wondering if the hardware I picked out was good. I'm hoping to play some higher end games on it and do a decent amount of video editing. Also, I'm on sort of a limited budget. Anyways here's what I have picked out so far:

MoBo: Newegg.com - Open Box: MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU: Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX

Video Card: Newegg.com - MSI N460GTX CYCLONE 1GD5/OC GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

RAM: Newegg.com - CORSAIR Vengeance 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9

HDD: Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Optical Drive: Newegg.com - ASUS Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - CD / DVD Burners

Power Sup: Newegg.com - Antec NEO ECO 520C 520W Continuous Power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Case: Newegg.com - Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

That's it, if there's anything I forgot, please tell me. And if there is stuff that either won't work or there is a cheap upgrade, also tell me. Thanks for your help!

puzowned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:35 AM   #2
Baseband Member

Default Re: New to building

what games and what sort of graphics levels do you want to play? also what's your budget and i'll see what i can put together for you.