New Build

Stennick

Beta member
I'm a new guy here (as evidenced by this being my second post). First let me tell you the computer I have been using for the last four years is an Acer Aspire 5517 laptop. For those of you that aren't familiar with it (and who would be unless they were forced to) it rocks a SINGLE core 1.6 ghz processor with two gigs of ram with a 15 inch screen. The sad thing is in 2009 I think I paid nearly 400 dollars for this atleast 300.

Before that I've had a run of shitty desktops that I can't even remember the specs on them because they were from 2005 and before. Hell I think in 2004 I had a 350 MHZ processor.

Anyway you get the picture I've always had shitty shitty computers and I'm sick of it. I'm sick of getting computers that are outdated years before I even buy them. So I want to get a new cpu and I finally have the cash to make the purchase. Before I do that I have several questions and any help with these questions would be great.

The first question is is it cheaper to have a computer built than buying one off of the shelf? I don't know jack about building a computer I know you need a mother board, a power supply, a processor, a case, a hard drive and RAM. I don't know if you need more than that and I don't know how to put any of that together. So I would have to go to a computer shop to do so which seems like paying them to build my computer will be taking whatever I save by buying the parts myself and just handing those savings over to them to build it for me. Not too mention I doubt I would get the same kind of fool proof long term warranty that I could get if I bought one but if I'm missing something please let me know.