New to this

juggernautbitch

Beta member
I am a college student looking for a good desktop computer, mainly music, papers, and web browsing would be the main uses with maybe some games. Where do i even start to get one, i want to keep the cost below say 1500? any help is appreciated.

Thats a name change waiting to happen...Give me 10minz, and I can find you a nice desktop, 1500 isnt to bad, Im sure you can find a nice deal..

Alright, this to me, seems like a great deal...2gb of ram, you wont have to upgrade for a looooooong time...Amd x2, one of the best processors out, dont worry some will come along and say get Intel Dual Core...Its up to you, to me, I could care less, if your going to game everynow and then, it doesnt make a difference...250gb hdd, so you will never run out of space...It doesnt have an amazing gpu, its a built in, but still it comes with a pci0e 16x, so you will be able to update at any time, just buy a 200 card, and you will be set...Not saying you have to, for normal games, the gpu will handle, halo, and counter strike, from what I believe..What seals the deal for me, is a 19inch lcd comes along with it, all for 930.00..

http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?product_code=26907&pfp=august27

:D

Ok ill give you a few details that you would want to look at if you wonder into your local PC store.

Depends on where you live, prices will be different but 1500$ will get you a nice PC.

It seems like you want a Basic computer with some room for a possiable upgrade.

Specs.. Buy something with at lease - 512MB of RAM. You want a CPU that you wont need to upgrade for awhile so buy a CPU around 3Mhz (last you long time). Becuase you want music and some games it would be good to have a 80GB hard drive so you can save alot of music or even videos. A CD burner is a must becuase we all love burning our tunes and playing them in the Car. You can go a DVD burner if you want to burn DVD's