networking or programming?

echo1

Beta member
Hello,

Im a computer student and I got a doubt about this aspect..: The thing is my baccalaureate (sorry, don't know if i'm saying it correctly), or my major, offers many different classes related to computers in general. For example, I have about five classes that deal with networking, some have to do with repairing and building the pc, only two are about programing (C++, HTML), others are about telecomunications, etc.

Maybe you'd think: "what's wrong with this? it sounds good cause you'll learn every aspect of pcs." But my concern is: will I really learn about all this subjects deeply enough when I'm getting many different subjects of pcs??? And also, since there are so many different subjects in the major, I'll not get "speciallized" in any of them and will only know the general concepts. (Hope I'm clear enough). I already know about networking so I'd say im not learning many new things.

So I thought programing. Since programing is the "base" of computers, everything emerges from it. If I write a program, I know how it works, how it interacts with device drivers, with the kernel, etc. I would know how to build networking utilities, you should get the idea by now.

There's this baccalaureate/major in programing which includes subjects such as:logical programing, visual basic, object oriented programing, structured programing, computer mathematics, assembly language (close to machine code) computer architectures, etc.

what I need from you guys is your opinion on which aspect do you prefer, why and why not, and which one do you recommend.

Do you think is better to know networking and a little bit of everything, or you'd like to program and know the "roots" and eventually all aspects of computers?

thanks