Need New Laptop

latkingz781

Solid State Member
I'm a college student getting a new laptop in the $700 price range. I want to get an Intel Core 2 Duo of atleast 2.2 GHz. I would also like anything other than intel graphics, preferably atleast 512MB from ATI or NVIDIA. Any good sales on any sites? I'm going to be using this computer at school and to play videogames on some down time. Anyone have any suggestions? Help please? I'm proably getting it in the next week and a half.

I wouldn't buy an Acer laptop unless someone gave me a million dollars and I couldn't find anything better to use it on than a future paper weight and/or doorstop.

Just my 2 cents, but I've had a few Acers roll through my shop...even though they were only a year or two old, they've had both aesthetic and physical (hardware) problems up the wazoo. I personally would stick with Sony (though, I don't think they offer anything at your price point), HP, or Lenovo. I'm not a Dell fan, but, if worse comes to worse, check them out. I'm surprised J hasn't been around to this one. He's the laptop guy usually. I can dig up a few things tomorrow if no one else has replied.

Also, though you'll pay sales tax at the manufacturers website, I'd much prefer to buy that way than thru NewEgg.

Pretty good chart to look at: http://www.engadget.com/2009/11/17/laptop-reliability-survey-asus-and-toshiba-win-hp-fails/

Knowing what I know I'd still go with the laptop that familyman suggested, those are some great specs at that price. Reviewers are saying that it actually came with a 240m graphics card in it and you won't a computer with that card for under $800. Your only downfall with that computer is that it has a 5400rpm hard drive.

Yes, it looks like a really great buy!