Need input on specific laptops

pinkwarrior40

Beta member
Hi. I'm new to these forums and I came here specifically to get some information about getting a new laptop. Please move this if this is not in the right place. Today, I went to Best Buy to look at their laptops. I'm set on going there because I have gift cards for there to specifically put towards buying a new laptop.

I know that Best Buy has reviews on the laptops but sometimes it is hard to really take those for what it's worth. Some people on there may completely bash the laptop for something they did.

My current laptop is an HP Pavilion dv6000. I will NOT go back to using an HP. I want a laptop that will be fast and will hold enough memory. I use a laptop for researching and surfing the web. I'm a graduate student going for my Master's. My other uses for the laptop is for downloading songs from iTunes and uploading pictures. I'm not that big on games, except I would like to put The Sims back on my laptop. My price range is nothing more than $600....unless someone on here could point me to a very good laptop.

To begin with I would like input on these brands:

• Toshiba
  • Acer
  • Lenovo
I stayed away from HP and Dell. But how are Sony and Samsung on laptops? I wasn't too sure, so I didn't look at them that long.

Now, here are the specific laptops that I looked at:

• Asus. Intel Core i5 Mobile Processor Laptop. It has a 15.6 screen, 6 GB DDR3 memory and 640GB hard drive
  • Asus. Intel Core i3-2230M Processor Laptop. It has a 14 screen, 4GB DDR3 memory and 500 GB hard drive
  • Asus. Intel Core i5-2430M Processor Laptop
  • Lenovo. Intel Core i5 Processor Laptop. It has a 15.6 screen, 6 GB DDR3 memory and 750 GB hard drive
  • Lenovo. Intel Core i3-2330M Processor Laptop. It has a 15.6 screen, 4 GB DDR3 memory and 500 GB hard drive
  • Toshiba. Intel Core i3-2330M Processor Laptop. It has a 15.6 screen, 4 GB DDR3 and 500 GB hard drive