Logitech speakers....what else do I need?

tibug

Solid State Member
Hey, I'm in the slow process of building my first desktop, and I'd like to know what people think of these speakers...

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/speakers_audio/home_pc_speakers/devices/3549&cl=us,en

They're 90$ at newegg after 40$ MIR. Seems like a good deal. If I'm spending this much on speakers, do I need a dedicated sound card? I'm a total noob at this, so I don't even know what I need for "6-channel sound capability," as it says on logitech's site.

Thanks,
Tim

It depends on your MOBO if you need a dedicated card or not. Those are very nice speakers, Logitech knows what they are doing when it comes to sound systems. Anyway, if your MOBO has something like 5.1 surround support, and preferably HD audio support as well, then you probably won't need a dedicated sound card. However, if it has no surround support, or HD audio, then you might want to go dedicated. Also, if you are a person who values the difference in a few FPS (say, the difference between 30 and 32) then it might be better to go with a dedicated card.

If you want a dedicated card, I recommend a Creative brand card, preferably with X-Fi technology.

Thanks a bunch for the excellent response. I'm not the uber gaming freak type (no offense to those who are), and I'm not mixing or anything (However, I do like to have nice,crisp sound for lots of music and some gaming), so I don't think I need a dedicated sound card. So, to the mobo then. I'm building an mATX rig, so my choices are a bit limited...how's this?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128078

I went purely based on the newegg reviews...I know nothing about motherboards and would be totally lost in choosing a good one without the reviews. So is there anything wrong with this mobo? Is there another that would be worth the upgrade?

Muchas gracias, hombre!

Tim