Laptop wont start, Ive exhausted all my options, please help

papethova

Baseband Member
One of our laptops wont boot up (XP pro). I can get to the windows screen sometimes, once even got to the logon/password screen, but most of the time I cant even get that far. I have tried to select last known good configuration and all the safe mode options. The safe modes take forever and end in a quick blue screen. I tried recovery console but it needs an admin password that I cant remember (going to try one last time with admin as the pw) and when I try to install windows I dont have the keep file system intact option just 2 format options. I really need to keep the file system intact here.

Only other option I can think of would be to access the laptop HD through my PC as a slave, but I dont know if thats possible or how to set it up. Desktop to desktop Im a pro at.

Any ideas? Im really desperate. Thanks in advance.

Ya i tried leaving it blank, didnt work. Seems like now it doesnt recognize a, for lack of a better word, file structure because it allows me to access C drive through the recovery. It doesnt even show "1. windows" and ask me to select it.

I tried fixboot and again I can get to the windows screen but not beyond, just goes black after and computer restarts.

Next try fixmbr, results...
Well I can get the windows screen and then just a quick blue screen and it restarts.

I dont relly know what else to do here. I just need to access a few files on there.

hi mate

i dunno weather your from uk or us but most are from us so try looking here

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=HD-108&cat=CBL

then you will be able to just bung the laptop hardrive in there and boot into your desktop drive and access the files ;)

but if the files your tryin to acces were under a password protected account then u may have some trouble

Thanks, I appreciate it. I didnt know such a thing existed. This should do the trick.