I need an AGP

PeterBZ

Solid State Member
I just bought a new computer and found out that my motherboard only have PCI and no AGP (although there is a space to fill the AGP, the port just isn't there). I was wondering if it was possible to buy an AGP since I heard that AGP Video Cards are better than PCI Video Cards.

Sorry, I'm not really good with computer hardware....

Thanks in advance!

Nope you can't buy a AGP alot, and yes AGP slots are better then PCI slots. Are you sure it's not a PCI-Ex16 slot. if it is thats better then AGP slots.

Because the computer I bought has a motherboard with a on-board video card, and the slot where video cards are usually placed is empty and below that empty space are 3 PCI slots I believe, the standard ones.

For example, I buy a Sapphire Radeon X700 256MB DDR PCI-E video card, and it's Bus is PCI-Express x16, would I be able to plug the card into the standard PCI slots. If I can, would I ruin the card's performance?

PCIe cards aren't compatible with PCI slots. That's a downer. You'll have to settle with a regular PCI card. (AGP slots are usually offset to the right a little and comes in brown color or sometime different color depending on the motherboard. They are the very first slot on the motherboard for reference.)

TRDCorolla said:
PCIe cards aren't compatible with PCI slots. That's a downer. You'll have to settle with a regular PCI card. (AGP slots are usually offset to the right a little and comes in brown color or sometime different color depending on the motherboard. They are the very first slot on the motherboard for reference.)
So do PCI Cards suck a lot? I checked my motherboard, there are no AGP or PCI-E slots. There're just normal PCI slots. Are PCI cards even compatible to today's games such as Half Life 2 and Doom 3?