Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 07-27-2005, 11:47 PM   #1
Daemon Poster

Default how do i get my new comp not to mess up?

ok heres the deal:
i am getting the computer that is in my profile from newegg. i am new at actually putting together a computer like this. i have heard sooo many complaints on here about ppl puting their computers together and the computer not turning on, or they fry their motherboard. can ppl give me some tips, because i am sooo worried about doing this. i am extreemely focused on this being a 1 time thing and not a month long project

jcon89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 11:54 PM   #2
Fully Optimized

Send a message via AIM to winterfreshpwnz Send a message via MSN to winterfreshpwnz
Default Re: how do i get my new comp not to mess up?

Building a computer is one of the easiest things to do. It's normal that you're nervous, but don't worry, it truly is easy as long you take everything nice and slow. You need be able to read for one thing, you'll be reading lots of manuals, and those manuals will pretty much be your guide for what to do. Be sure to this on maybe hardwood floor or a table, but not carpet. Get yourself grounded so that there isn't tons of static in your body because that's how people fry their mobos. And definitely be gentle with these parts, I hold everything from the edges and try to touch them with the most caution. Just pay attention to what you are doing, read manuals, and groudn yourself. It will be very easy.

Old 07-27-2005, 11:58 PM   #3
Baseband Member

Send a message via AIM to Silvance Send a message via Yahoo to Silvance

If I were on linoleum, would I still generate static electicity with me lying/sitting on the ground?
Silvance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 12:01 AM   #4
Fully Optimized

Send a message via AIM to winterfreshpwnz Send a message via MSN to winterfreshpwnz