Help me build a gaming pc

5ton

Beta member
I really have no ideo how to build a pc. But im willing to learn. Im afraid to speen $700+ on a pc then have me mess it up building it wrong. I was looking at this prebuilt gaming pc. Most people say you can build a better one for cheaper. But thats if you know how.

This looks pretty decent(let me know if im wrong im new to this) Is this worth the money?

Newegg.com - iBUYPOWER Gamer Power 579Q6 Desktop PC Phenom II X6 1090T(3.2GHz) 4GB DDR3 1.5TB HDD Capacity AMD Radeon HD 6850 (1 GB) Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Also some people say to buy a pc built and just upgrade the power supply and videocard. Is that hard to do and worth it?

thanks

PC building is truly very much easier than most people set it out to be. I know how daunting something can seem at first until you actually do it, but the best advice I can give you is practice first if you can. Then you'll get the confidence you need to do it.

There's just a few simple rules for building a PC 99% of the time really.

1) ground yourself before working on your parts / PC. The most universally accepted way to do this without a wrist strap is to leave the PC plugged in for a moment, touch a metal case component (Side panel, back panel, etc) and then unplug the power supply and work on the system. In my experience, this works fine, even with the servers I work on at work. Also be sure you're not on a shag carpet, or even lineoleum. Static can build on both surfaces and cause ESD (Electrostatic Discharge) which can kill parts with shocks you can't even feel (rubbing your feet on the carpet and touching someone is several orders of magnitude more powerful than even a simple shock that can kill PC parts. Most of the time, you'll never feel it)