Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 09-15-2006, 05:57 PM   #1
Baseband Member

Default help attaching powersupply

hello,

i am new to building computers, and i wanted to make one as a learning experience. I go all my parts, and have assembled them inside the case. What my problem is is the power. im not sure where to plug everything in. here is a picture of what i have:

I have tried a few different combos of plugs, none of them work. I pluged it into the hdd, floppy, cd, cdrw, but my problem is with the power button and the mother board. From the back of the power button is a cable that came with the case. What plugs do i plug into where? thanks for any help.

bigggnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 06:15 PM   #2
In Runtime

Default Re: help attaching powersupply

the plugs from the power button on the case plug into the motherboard... check the mobo manual for directions on where to plug the plugs in

Athlon 64 3500+ with great big massive arctic cooling fan, 2GB DDR RAM, 256MB PCI-E ATI Radion X800 GTO, Hauppage TV Card, 200GB SATA + 165GB IDE Hard Disk Drive, 1GBit Ethernet card, and a lot of operationg systems installed:
WinXP + Win98 + Win3.1 + Debian + CentOS + DSL + Feather linux + Opensuse 10.1 + Grub multiboot.
bigbondfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 06:28 PM   #3
Golden Master

Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy

they are down in the lower right hand corner of the motherboard, there will be plugs for your power and reset buttons and the power and hdd led's. Consult your motherboard's manual as to which plugs go where.

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 06:47 PM   #4
In Runtime