Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Join Computer forums Today

Old 02-26-2009, 03:16 PM   #1
Solid State Member
Send a message via Yahoo to reynrock
Default Hello

Hi everyone I'm wanting to try to build my own computer i have a few things already but my main problem is i'm not real sure about what computer parts are compatible with each other.I also dont understand a lot moutherboards,processors,ect i can list the things i have i just need some help letting me know about what else i need and how to go about putting it together without it (blowing up in my face) not working.I would be happy with any hepl i can get.Thanks

reynrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:23 PM   #2
Baseband Member
Default Re: Hello

Im not really good at explaining so ill do my best

Computer parts can be quite confusing I agree but to get around this just compare the specs of all the parts. Start with a processor that you like and work around it. Check the specs and look for motherboards that have "like" specs. For example. If i want to use an intel core 2 duo processor the specs will say it has a socket LGA775. I just look for motherboards that have compatibility with this number.

For my first build i got a book about putting computers together. You can go onto Amazon or your local bookstore and look for one. They help quite a bit for your first build.

Good Luck.

My current Build

Windows XP SP 3 (Yeah pretty old)
Processor-Intel Core 2 Duo 6300@1.88 GHz
Ram-4 GB ram
Hard Drive-Maxtor 320Gb and external Freegate 250 GB
PNY Nvidia Verto 9500 GT 1GB
Too lazy to look up my Mobo but i know its Gigabyte
wizard12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:39 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
Default Re: Hello

Well what do you plan on doing with the computer?? What is your budget??? What parts do you already have that you may want to reuse???