Hard drive too slow for other components?

dragonxballo

Beta member
Hello,
I am a networking engineer, a fresh one too so I have no clue about hard drives:)
I was wondering if some of you may help me out.
I bought a computer about 4 months ago. These are the specs:
Inter Core i7 920 2.67 GHZ
6 GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon 5700 series graphics
I really dont know what my HDD is so Ill just give you this: WDC WD1001FAES-75W7A0
Windows 7

Now, the first thing Id like to say is that the bootup process of my machine is quite long.
I had a PC, running XP which was a lot slower then this and it booted faster.
Could my HDD have something to do with it?

Another thing is my HDD activity compared to my CPU usage.
I am currently running a norton comprehensive scan. I know these usually slow your machine down as hell but even tho it doesn't slow down the actual performance of the program that is already running, it slows down its start time significantly.
I looked at the Start Task manager and I noticed that during the scan only 6-10% of my CPU was used, 2.55GB of RAM. I then looked at the hard drive performance and
noticed that it had one of those blue lines going all the way up to the top (10mbps) and the green like up to like 2-4mbps. Sometimes I was getting massive spikes of the green activity (I supposed its the activity that is actually happening in real time) that went up to 10mbps.

Is my HDD slowing my PC down? If so please recommend a new one with a storage room of 1TB or max 1.5TB.
As I mentioned above I have no clue what to look for in hard drives.
Please check out my current hard drive (WDC WD1001FAES-75W7A0) and compare it to my other components and please tell me what you think.

Thanks,
Simon

My pc specs are very similar to you and mine to was on the slow side due to the hard drive. I upgraded to a SSD drive and it has made a HUGE difference, you could get a SSD drive for the boot drive (windows), and then get a standard hard drive for data. like i have :)