Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 04-19-2007, 07:59 AM   #1
Fully Optimized

Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Graphics Cards Memory

hi,

whenever i have posted a thread concerning a pc build and graphics card i have always said i am no expert on graphics cards perhaps you can help me have a little more knoledge,

here what the main thing is im buildin a pc for a m8 of mine and he dont do no extreme gaming just goes on second life alot.

but as far as my knoledge goes which is not alot i judge a graphics card by how much memory its got which confuses me ?

coz alot of graphics cards i c say 256Mb memory supporting 512Mb wot does this mean whats the actual memory of that graphics card ?

and what is the better way to judge how good a graphics card is ?

thanks

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 09:06 AM   #2
Daemon Poster

Send a message via AIM to Starr Send a message via MSN to Starr
Default Re: Graphics Cards Memory

Can you post a link to the graphics cards?

You usually want to compare the memory of the card and the speed of the card. You probably want to shoot for around a GeForce 6200 if he isn't doing intense gaming. They are pretty cheap.

Windows Vista Business Edition

"There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who know binary and those who don't."
Starr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 10:01 AM   #3
Fully Optimized

right well heres the 1 i was gonna buy

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/117995

but i generally wanted to know a bit more bout graphics cards for future reference

here is another example http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/119117

says 128Mb supporting 512 MB so technically is there n e difference in the 2 cards ? im sure there is but i dunno

how do i tell how good a graphics card is in very simple terms lol

Old 04-19-2007, 10:24 AM   #4
Baseband Member