Gaming pc build help

Itschill

Beta member
Hey, i'm new to these forums and looking for some help with a gaming PC. I'm no computer wiz by any means but i quite enjoy my computer games and after realizing my little laptop just can't hold up to the quality of most of today's games i decided to upgrade. Like i said i'm no computer wiz so i don't now what is all out their on today's market and what is the best bang for your buck. i have had a couple suggestions from friends and reading around the web on what would be good for a CPU and graphics card.

What i want out of the computer is pretty simple, i play lots of online games from battlefield 3 to starcraft 2 etc, and i want to be able to run these games at nearly the highest graphics i can with little latency. Other then that it'll only be used for music, and browsing the web from time to time. I plan on running the computer through my TV and playing it off of their. I am a student so my budget isn't unlimited and only want to spend between $1,000-1,300.

I was looking at a computer build site and came up with something like this:
CPU- Intel Core i5-2500k
Motherboard- Asus P8z68-v LX
RAM- Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3
Graphics card- AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Power supply- 700watts XtremeGear SLI/crossFireX ready power supply
Hard drive- ??
Optical drive- Sony 24x double layer dual format
Sound Card- Creative labs sb X-fi Extreme 24-bit PCI

- $1,196 is what i'm being told this will cost (with case)

Like i said, this is just what i build on a site that i will most likely order from, i'm just curious if this will fit my needs? if not what would be the best changes? is their anything else i should include? or am i just completely on the wrong track and could you show me where to begin. I don't really want to order all my own parts and put it together myself, like i said this isn't my area of expertise.

Thanks alot guys :angel: and bit of information you can pass on would be greatly appreciated, thanks for your time.