first custom gaming pc build

BadReligion83

Baseband Member
Like the title states, this is my first attempt at building my own PC. My budget for this is between $1000 and $1500 although I'd like to stay middle of the road with the price.

My first problem is where to start. My mind set tells me to start with the case but I've got the inkling that this is wrong

Well, Gamers use full tower cases for their good airflow/cooling capability. Check out the Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced. The latest Intel CPUs are the Ivy Bridge series and the bang for the buck choice would be the i5-3750, or K model if you're an overclocker. Get at least 8GB (2 x 4GB sticks) or more memory, DDR3 1600 or faster. I prefer G.Skill or Corsair memory. The new nVidia GTX 660, just released today, would be a good mid-price card. I prefer Antec or Corsair PSUs and always get one with at least 20% overhead. That should get you started -- if you've questions get back with us.

OS-Wiz said:
Well, Gamers use full tower cases for their good airflow/cooling capability. Check out the Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced. The latest Intel CPUs are the Ivy Bridge series and the bang for the buck choice would be the i5-3750, or K model if you're an overclocker. Get at least 8GB (2 x 4GB sticks) or more memory, DDR3 1600 or faster. I prefer G.Skill or Corsair memory. The new nVidia GTX 660, just released today, would be a good mid-price card. I prefer Antec or Corsair PSUs and always get one with at least 20% overhead. That should get you started -- if you've questions get back with us.

OK I think I should state this so as to avoid headaches for me and everybody else down the road. I've got adhd and it doesn't help when trying to do things like this so I may be asking A LOT of questions just to make sure I don't mess anything up.

Because of the ADHD, I suggest you focus on one thing at a time.