First Build

superbenny

Solid State Member
Let me know what you think:
also, this is my first build, so I don't have much of a procedure...knowing me, I probably left something really important out that I just wasn't thinking of, or didn't know about.

also, let me know if theres anything you can think of to shave off a couple bucks. I was trying to keep it under $500, but its a little over.

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersio...WishListNumber=7485191&WishListTitle=Computer

-superbenny

i went with that case because it comes with a PSU. I don't really mind how it looks...its going to be under a desk anyway.

I am switching to that mobo and processor that you recomended...very nice find!

It will be for general use. I can expect to have AIM, Firefox, iTunes, Photoshop and Bridge running at the same time...thats the most memory intensive stuff that will be going on.

As to the video card: ive never had a situation where the onboard video is not sufficient...I'm simply trying to keep the cost down. eventually, I will be looking to upgrade to a dedicated video card...what do you reccommend? I dont game, and the most taxing thing on the graphics would probably be desktop compositing.

it is a budget build...trying to keep it under 500...no more than 550

Thanks everyone!

more input would be much appreciated though.

I am switching to that mobo and processor that you recomended...very nice find!
Me or LambOfGod?
As to the video card: ive never had a situation where the onboard video is not sufficient...I'm simply trying to keep the cost down. eventually, I will be looking to upgrade to a dedicated video card...what do you reccommend? I dont game, and the most taxing thing on the graphics would probably be desktop compositing.
The 780G chipset has an a HD 3200 integrated graphics chip which is half decent, for what you're doing it will be perfect. It can also do Blu-Ray and HD playback fine. I don't think you'd need a dedicated card.

Me or LambOfGod?