Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 04-21-2008, 10:18 PM   #1
Solid State Member

Default First Build

Let me know what you think:
also, this is my first build, so I don't have much of a procedure...knowing me, I probably left something really important out that I just wasn't thinking of, or didn't know about.

also, let me know if theres anything you can think of to shave off a couple bucks. I was trying to keep it under $500, but its a little over.

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...Title=Computer

-superbenny

superbenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:14 PM   #2
Golden Master

Default Re: First Build

What do you need the PC for exactly? And will you be overclocking?
You haven't included a video card, and you will need one unless you buy a motherboard with integrated graphics, also I would recommend AMD for a budget build, you can get so much more for your money especially with the 780G chipset.
CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103258
Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131273

AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.0GHz + TU120E lapped - MSI 770-CD45 AM3 - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333MHz - Sapphire HD 4870 - Samsung Spinpoint 500GB 7200RPM 16MB cache HDD - Tagan TG600-BZ Piperock - (Currently open test bed) - Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit.
worshipme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:33 PM   #3
Fully Optimized

Send a message via MSN to LambOfGod

Great pick on the board, if your going LGA 775

I would go with Seagate drives,

ohhh and that case.... man unless you really like the looks.......blah

get this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119068
LambOfGod- Q6600 g0 @ 3.06 Ghz * DFI LANPARTY DK X48-T2RS * Antec 1200 * Rosewill RP550 PSU * EVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked *WD 74GB Raptor * 2 X Seagate 1TB 7200.11 (RAID 1) * 4 GB DDR2 1022 GSKILL 5-5-5-13 * Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit/Windows XP 64 Bit