Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2010, 06:33 PM   #21
In Runtime
 
IowaBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 201
Send a message via MSN to IowaBoy
Default Re: eMachines T1100, T1105

bad idea. You can buy a graphics card for $100 that is PCI from RadioShack or Best Buy.
__________________

__________________
STEAM: iowaboy94
IowaBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 06:44 PM   #22
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: eMachines T1100, T1105

Mmmm.

I could be wrong but there's a few graphics cards here that might be better than the on-board GPU your running.

But I still think the PCI interface will hold it back.
__________________

__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 06:59 PM   #23
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: eMachines T1100, T1105

I thought any PCI cards are not good as my AGP card. Didn't you say that PCI cards are not good as AGP? Meaning any PCI cards aren't good. I mean if it was AGP then GeForce FX 5000 series would be better but since if you get the PCI version isn't it all bad no matter what kind it is? Like even if I got the higher end PCI card it won't be good at all unless it's AGP or better.
Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 07:01 PM   #24
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: eMachines T1100, T1105

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin_Broke View Post
I thought any PCI cards are not good as my AGP card. Didn't you say that PCI cards are not good as AGP?
we are not making fun of you, promise.

and not all PCI cards suck, some are "decent" same goes with AGP, and PCI E
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 07:18 PM   #25
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: eMachines T1100, T1105

But since my onboard video card has AGP doesn't that mean it's better than any PCI type card? I know there are better AGP cards than mine but since I can't use AGP isn't the AGP card I have the best that I can get for my system?
Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 07:40 PM   #26
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: eMachines T1100, T1105

it is the "best" you can get because you cant get any other AGP GPU for your rig.

try using GPUZ an show us the specs? not sure if that will show a integrated gpu though
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 07:53 PM   #27
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: eMachines T1100, T1105

Are you asking me to show you the system specs? I thought I posted that on the first page. Also I showed you the specs that is on the sticker.

Is there some specs you need that is not listed?
Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 05:17 PM   #28
Beta Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: eMachines T1100, T1105

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin_Broke View Post
So my onboard video card must be better than getting a PCI card since I know AGP is alot better than PCI. If I did add a new card it would have to be PCI right so it won't be as good as the onboard AGP. Unless there is a way to add an AGP card then the onboard AGP is alot better than any PCI basicaly.
No. An add-on PCI graphics card with it's own memory will dramatically improve the performance of this computer. I know because I've done it. You can dig around on ebay and find an older card that was higher-end "back in the day" for basically, peanuts.

In your digging around about this emachines T1105, did you by any chance figure out exactly what socket it has, and what CPU the BIOS would support? It looks like only a 1.1ghz max, which isn't worth the effort of upgrading from a 1.0. I

** edited **
forget the entire agp business, the agp onboard video is nothing compared to what you get with the dedicated card. You can also install several versions of Linux on this machine, eliminating the need for resource hungry anti-spyware,anti-virus, etc. With a good PCI video card, Xfce or LXDE, and 512mb Ram, this machine would still make a good browser and emailer. According to what I've seen, you should be able to run 512mb on it.
drreed10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 12:19 AM   #29
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: eMachines T1100, T1105

I first had trouble trying to make two 256mb PC100 rams to work but then when I called a tech guy from OEM memory site and they were looking it up on forums to see if there were others that had this problem and basicly at the end found out that I needed to update the bios so it will accept 512mb total ram. So now I have 512mb of system ram and it's much faster than 256mb.
Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 05:48 PM   #30
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: eMachines T1100, T1105

Ok I am soo glad I didn't need to buy a new power supply since my ATI Radeon 7200 PCI card works perfectly fine. I don't know why you guys said no video cards will work on my system but it seems like the Radeon 7200 works and I noticed that my games run alot smoother and not as choppy. I thought since my Intel video chip was AGP it was a good IGP but I guess since the Radeon 7200 has T&L feature it makes a huge difference. So basicly my 150 watts power supply works. Also I did before contacted ATI techs and they said my power supply should work when they saw the specs of it.


But they did say if I wanted to have a Radeon 9250 then I need at least a 200 watt power supply so when I save up more money I will upgrade my power supply and then get maybe the 9250 or GeForce 6200.
__________________

Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0