Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2008, 12:21 AM   #31
In Runtime
 
Smartpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Go back to stock boot up, and run sensor test in realtemp. See what it tells you.
__________________

__________________
Intel E3110 @ 4.0Ghz | Xigmatec HDT-S1283 120 | MSI 8800GTS | 4Gb Mushkin DDR2 800 @ 890 | Seagate 7200.11 500Gb | Lite-On DVD | Apevia X-Telestar | GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R | PCP&C 610w Silencer | Vista Home Premium 64bit
Smartpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:22 AM   #32
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Stock clock you mean? I am at stock speeds
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 3.4GHz || GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 || Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3-1600 || EVGA GeForce GTX 480 || Samsung EVO 256GB SSD
my feet get cold and that gives me diarrhea sometimes - Smart_Guy
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:35 AM   #33
In Runtime
 
Smartpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Ya then run a sensor test in realtemp. And tell me what it is.
__________________
Intel E3110 @ 4.0Ghz | Xigmatec HDT-S1283 120 | MSI 8800GTS | 4Gb Mushkin DDR2 800 @ 890 | Seagate 7200.11 500Gb | Lite-On DVD | Apevia X-Telestar | GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R | PCP&C 610w Silencer | Vista Home Premium 64bit
Smartpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:37 AM   #34
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

If you reread my other posts, it told me that the sensors are "stuck"...but I think that RealTemp is not ready for these 45nm cpu's because worship is having the same problem. I'll post a screen if you want me to.
__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 3.4GHz || GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 || Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3-1600 || EVGA GeForce GTX 480 || Samsung EVO 256GB SSD
my feet get cold and that gives me diarrhea sometimes - Smart_Guy
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:44 AM   #35
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Real Temp is the most accurate programme out there at present imo. It's not that Real Temp "is not ready for these 45nm cpu's" it is a sensor problem.

There is a known issue with 45nm sensors sticking

Have you read unclewebbs thread over at xtremesystems forum, perhaps you might understand a little better if you do. it's not the idle temp that the in die sensor is designed to read but the TjMax, when thermal induced cpu clock throttling kicks in so the temp you should be worried about is 100% load.

have you checked your stock cooler pushpin mounts to ensure they're correctly engaged??
__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:46 AM   #36
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

So do you think that my ACTUAL PHYSICAL temps are fine?..it's just the sensors that plain suck? Because I have a hard time believing these temps...there's no way. My 6420 didn't even get up to 55C on it's 3.0Ghz overclock with the stock HSF and TIM....IDK...I should've bought a E3110..seems THOSE are doing just fine ;-)
__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 3.4GHz || GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 || Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3-1600 || EVGA GeForce GTX 480 || Samsung EVO 256GB SSD
my feet get cold and that gives me diarrhea sometimes - Smart_Guy
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:46 AM   #37
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

If the sensors on the CPU are stuck, no temperature monitoring program is going to help you.
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:48 AM   #38
In Runtime
 
Smartpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Ah I missed that his sensor were stuck earlier.
__________________
Intel E3110 @ 4.0Ghz | Xigmatec HDT-S1283 120 | MSI 8800GTS | 4Gb Mushkin DDR2 800 @ 890 | Seagate 7200.11 500Gb | Lite-On DVD | Apevia X-Telestar | GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R | PCP&C 610w Silencer | Vista Home Premium 64bit
Smartpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:49 AM   #39
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

It's the idle though, you should still get a top of the range reading under load.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_56013 View Post
So do you think that my ACTUAL PHYSICAL temps are fine?..it's just the sensors that plain suck?
Entirely possible, the sensor won't drop any lower because it is stuck, what are your load temps?

As to the E3110 "doing fine" in this respect, mine wont read lower than 32-33C even at stock (3.0GHz) clocks.

EDIT: The sensor issue isn't covered by Intel as an RMAable defect either as they were never intended to work in this manner.
__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 01:04 AM   #40
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Um. wow. guys. I feel really stupid. I am reading the wrong temps? Because I'm going off of core temps...Am I supposed to be using dist to TJMax?

Here's the screeny from Orthos at about 8-9 min.



I think I'm overreacting...if it seems that way. :-)

BTW: I know ORTHOS has only been on for a bit, but temps seem to have stabilized at what you are seeing on screen..whether or not that's good or not depends on how those temps seem...
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 3.4GHz || GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 || Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3-1600 || EVGA GeForce GTX 480 || Samsung EVO 256GB SSD
my feet get cold and that gives me diarrhea sometimes - Smart_Guy
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0