Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2008, 04:37 PM   #21
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Well I was assuming that the only thing you can test sensors with is RealTemp (which I believe worshipme had to be using in order to see that his sensors were stuck)....so I checked mine with RealTemp and it said mine were stuck. But I also use asus probe, speedfan, and everest....all pretty high....but it's ok. I'm just using the stock HSF with the stock TIM...the stocked stuff worked fine on my old 6420 which is why I was ranting..usually things get BETTER, ya know? But I'm getting a new HSF and some Arctic Silver 5 as well....I'll let you know how that's going when I get it.

I honestly think the problem is the new HSF that intel includes. It's TINY. You could probably google for a pic, but it's 1/3 the size of my 6420's stock fan. I'm thinking less fins = more heat. Oh well..like I said really no BIG deal...it'd just be nice to get something good instead of okay when you buy something that is 195 buckaroos.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 3.4GHz || GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 || Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3-1600 || EVGA GeForce GTX 480 || Samsung EVO 256GB SSD
my feet get cold and that gives me diarrhea sometimes - Smart_Guy
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 04:54 PM   #22
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

@ worshipme,

on the P5E3 it was 1.225v (bios), 1.200v idle/load

on the P5K it is currently 1.250v (bios), 1.248v idle, 1.240 load, this is now a work in progress to find the minimum vcore.


@ Cabbs, nice, excellent temperatures, what's your ambient air temp?


@ dude 56013, The reason I asked is because different programmes use different TjMax when reading temps, Real Temp uses Tjmax of 95°C which is now widely accepted as the "more correct" for 45nm cpus, so if your temps were indeed read with Real Temp then you may well have temp issues, if however you are reading temps with the likes of Everest your temps will be elevated by 10°C (see my screenie for the difference)

Also, have you thoroughly inspected your push pin mounts for the cooler, they are notorious for not engaging correctly or even releasing which will give inflated temp readings, last but not least are case airflow and ambient air temps, unless these are comprable (especially ambient air temp) then comparisions are next to useless.

Quote:
Originally Posted by worshipme View Post
@ Cabbs

Do you have an E8400 or an E3110. CPU-Z reports the processor name as E8400, yet specification is Intel Xeon E3110??? Nice voltages BTW.
He needs to update to the latest version of CPUz.
__________________

__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 05:08 PM   #23
In Runtime
 
Smartpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Caabs your temps are fine. I got my temps down. They were high do to a noob error we won't discuss. lol. What hsf are you running? In realtemp im getting max temps of like 63 @4005Mhz
__________________
Intel E3110 @ 4.0Ghz | Xigmatec HDT-S1283 120 | MSI 8800GTS | 4Gb Mushkin DDR2 800 @ 890 | Seagate 7200.11 500Gb | Lite-On DVD | Apevia X-Telestar | GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R | PCP&C 610w Silencer | Vista Home Premium 64bit
Smartpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 05:09 PM   #24
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by worshipme View Post
I'm going to try and contact Intel about it. Worth a try...
If you get a hold of them, let me know!! either post in here or pm me or something...but I wanna know what the deal with that crap is!

Quote:
Originally Posted by worshipme View Post
Smartpart is using that. He was getting good temps.
Yup, I've read numerous reviews saying that it wins hands down for the money against many other HSF's....props to Cabbs (I hope it was you!!..I don't know off hand!) for recommending it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by worshipme View Post
Corrected.
I just died. If the floor at work wasn't dirty as crap, I would be ROFL. Hehehehe. That was an amazing comeback. Touché.
__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 3.4GHz || GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 || Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3-1600 || EVGA GeForce GTX 480 || Samsung EVO 256GB SSD
my feet get cold and that gives me diarrhea sometimes - Smart_Guy
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 05:15 PM   #25
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

I'm running a E3110 cooled by a Noctua NH-U9B in push-pull configuration.

Not sure of the exact temperature, but my room is usually 18-22 Celsius.
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 05:25 PM   #26
Golden Master
 
worshipme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Here is 3.8GHz, Vdroop is about 0.02V:

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.0GHz + TU120E lapped - MSI 770-CD45 AM3 - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333MHz - Sapphire HD 4870 - Samsung Spinpoint 500GB 7200RPM 16MB cache HDD - Tagan TG600-BZ Piperock - (Currently open test bed) - Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit.
worshipme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 05:47 PM   #27
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

What's up with your pc clock??

5 months to finish an 8K test

LMAO

Do you think 445MHz FSB is obtainable??
__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 06:05 PM   #28
Golden Master
 
worshipme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

Quote:
What's up with your pc clock??

5 months to finish an 8K test

LMAO
Haha, you noticed. I reset the BIOS before after doing a pencil mod (which didn't work) just in case I'd shaded too much.
I set the time and date half way through.

Just testing for 4GHz now.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.0GHz + TU120E lapped - MSI 770-CD45 AM3 - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333MHz - Sapphire HD 4870 - Samsung Spinpoint 500GB 7200RPM 16MB cache HDD - Tagan TG600-BZ Piperock - (Currently open test bed) - Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit.
worshipme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 06:22 PM   #29
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

445*9 ???

You got there this time??

Too much haste last attempt maybe??



Good to see you're getting there, what vcore for 4.0GHz this time?
__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:13 AM   #30
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: E3110/E8400 OC Thread

I don't know guys. This is starting to scare me. Everest and RealTemp are saying that core 1 is at 54C!! and my core 2 is at 44C!! Why would there be that much difference?...then I go into speedfan and it says core 1 is at 49 and 2 is at 41. But the actual "CPU" temp reads 40C...what should I go by? the Core temps or the CPU temp?....just remember that I'm using the stock TIM too....and man..I don't know..I hope this baby isn't defective or I'll be PO'd...let me know what you think...Those are pretty much IDLE TEMPS BTW!! I'm just using IE on here right now and that's the readings. Ambient temp is about 69-70F so that's about, what 21C?

Zac
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 3.4GHz || GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 || Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3-1600 || EVGA GeForce GTX 480 || Samsung EVO 256GB SSD
my feet get cold and that gives me diarrhea sometimes - Smart_Guy
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0