DVI connection for Quadro4 900 and Samsung Syncmaster

mattie

Beta member
Hi all

I have a samsung syncmaster 191T TFT monitor, which has an analogue and a DVI connection. I currently run an analogue cable from my Quadro4 900XGL graphics card, where I have to use a DVI to analogue connector to switch the digital output (the card has two digital outputs). I want to connect my laptop to the monitor, so that I can switch display between my desktop and laptop. I can only connect my laptop via analogue, hence I need to switch my desktop/monitor connection to digital as I have only one connection of each type on my monitor.

I have got a DVI-D single cable, and have connected it up. However, the monitor can see no input. I checked on the samsung site, where it was recommended that I hold the 'exit' key for 5 seconds. This didn't work either. The analogue link still works perfectly, however. I am aware that there are various types of DVI connection, however the monitor is stated (by Samsung) to handle DVI-D and DVI-I (both single) connections and the graphics card is stated to output DVI-I. What is not stated is whether the graphics card outputs single or dual, the cable itself is single and hence I asumed that it should work together.

Does anyone know if there are software settings etc. that require changing? Are there any other things that I need to do to get the monitor to connect via DVI?

All comments gratefully received

Matt

Hmm... by any chance have you checked the video cards settings on the laptop to allow an external connection?

Right click the desktop and go to Properties. Then go to Settings

Now on the laptop it might have up on screen now a box eith all the screen res's for example, but in the middle two blue boxes saying 1,2 on them. These are the monitors, and you might have to activate the second one which will be that port.