Custom Computers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well to tell you the truth, you're better off buying a reliable system than putting up something you are not sure about and have to ask. I built my own PC, but I have been playing around with computers for over 20 years.
The best way is to buy like PCWorld or other computer related magazines, and learn about the different motherboards, memories, hard disks, video cards etc. and also about the safety proceedures to take. One error and you could blow your motherboard. I personaly go to one of my dealers website and I virtually build myself a computer to see how much it will cost.
Your best start is getting knowledge; why not start at this website: http://www.webopedia.com/

One thing u can do, is find all the parts and manufactureres that u want, go to a local pc shop or a bunch of them, give them a list of what u will accept and get them to give u a quote. It wont be as expensive as pre-built pc's and u can make sure that u dont get cheap parts. It may a be a bit more expensive than if you bought all the parts from different sources and put it together urself, but we're talking chump change, and if ur not confident then thats the best way to go. I did that, paid about $50 more to have them do everything for me and now my pc is working great.

If you know a little about computers, check www.ZinoCustom.com
I had mine custom built by them ,they just assemble it, install the software, and ship it. Pretty darn cheap to, I compared with Alienware and this is what I found
ALIENWARE AREA 51-ALX
Processor: Intel® Core™ 2 Extreme X6800 2.93GHz 4MB Cache 1066MHz FSB
Operating System Windows® XP Professional with Service Pack 2
Chassis: Alienware® P2 ALX Chassis - Space Black
Chassis Upgrades: Alienware® AlienIce™ 3.0 Video Cooling - Fusion Red
Power Supply: 850 Watt Alienware® Multi-GPU Approved
Motherboard: Alienware® Approved NVIDIA nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
Memory: 2GB DDR2 Performance SDRAM at 800MHz - 2 x 1024MB