CPU not starting up - Just blinks

misterj

Beta member
I was playing my desktop yesterday and everything was fine. I shut down and went to sleep.
This morning, i switched it on and it just blinks. No sounds of the harddisk or fan. It doesn't load to windows and there is literally no activity.
When opened up the casing, the fans are not going and there's no activity or sounds from what i observed. :confused:

It can't be turned off with the on/off button but requires me switching off the power supply.

I naturally suspected it was the ram being too loose or something (i changed the ram 3weeks ago and it worked perfectly). So i went to tighten them (after switching off the main supply). After switching it back on, still nothing. Light blinks, fans not going, and no sounds. :(

Does anyone know what the problem COULD be? I'm no computer expert, so i was hoping some of you here can spot the problem.
Please, any input will be much appreciated.:D

hmm, thats weird, when you turn on your computer, how do you know that its on when the HDD and Fans arent moving?
Is this a custom built or is it a brand name?
might sound stupid, but do you see any display on the monitor?
When you press power, does everything turn on for about a sec then everything just shuts down, and you arent able to press power to see that again till you flip the switch and flip it back?
If it is, then its most likely the PSU (Power Supply Unit)

FYI - CPU (Central Processing Unit) is a component of a Computer, a lot of people makes this mistake, even me back then.

What is this blinking that you're seeing? You mean a cursor on the display? or the LED lights on the front of the case?
Usually when a computer doesn't respond to holding the power button down for 5 seconds, it's a faulty motherboard.

Re: COmputer not starting up - Just blinks

Oh haha i thought they could be used interchangeably.

There's nothing on the monitor