Connecting laptop to UPS?

charley007

Beta member
Hello friends! I would like an advice on something. I own an Asus laptop which is less than a year old. There is no issue with the laptop at present, have good battery backup an all. I am going to use laptop at office full time and as I don't want any interruption in between, I may need to connect the laptop to power source for the full working time. This is not something I have been doing with laptop at home. The cause of my concern here is that, all the power sources I have access to is connected to a UPS system by Staticon. A colleague told me that connecting laptop to an UPS for long time can damage its battery. I am a little worried about what he said as I don't want my laptop battery to be damaged so easily. I am not an expert, but I am a little confused if what he said is entirely true or not. Can someone here confirm, if a UPS system can negatively affect laptop health or not? Thanks in advance.:)

Well I'm not an electrician or anything but I don't think that's correct. Typically, a UPS system will only be beneficial if anything, since they usually condition the power and reduce any spikes or drops that may be present on the line that are damaging to computer components.

---------- Post added at 11:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:56 PM ----------

By the way, laptop batteries simply will not last forever no matter what you do. Fortunately, replacement generic brands are usually $20 on ebay.

UPS stands for Uninteruptable Power Supply. Basically what it is a device that keeps the power going in the case of a mains power failure. Obviously if a company is using computers/servers 24/7/365 and their business depends on those computers a power cut can cause all sorts of problems. I have worked in companies that use UPS,s and never had any problems with my laptop batteries.