Building a custom pc

dirtbikerac

Solid State Member
hey,

I am planning on building a custom pc and having a modified case, for my senior project in school. I was planning on having the case being Optimus Prime (in semi-truck mode). Housing most/all of the parts inside trailer of the semi. I just need help picking out the parts. Also, I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to building computers. Anyway, for the motherboard I was looking at:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813500010

and for ram:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134045

What else do I need? A processor? I realize I will need a hard drive and cd/dvd drive.

Also, I prefer shopping at newegg. And cheap is what I am going for. This isn't supposed to be a powerful computer. As long as I can run linux or something.

If you want it just to work with no bells or whistles.
Motherboard

Processor

RAM, you might want to get two of these

Power Supply

CD DVD Reader

Hard Drive

Now this is just the hardware you would need to get the computer RUNNING.
This won't really do much in terms of power or performance.
If you just want to show this works, that is the hardware you need.
However, if you have a price, we can build you the best computer you can get for the price.

The main problem is your custom case.
You will have to put fans on it, so the computer will actually be able to run, without overheating. (Simply put two fans, one in front one in back, and plug them into your Motherboard)
Another problem is the power switch. You will have to somehow make a power button, connected with a wire, that will plug in with the motherboard.
Do you have a price for it? Do you want it to do something? Or do you want to put it in the case and just simply turn it on to show your teacher?