ATI's FIREGl lineup

Zaki

Daemon Poster
does anybody know why this is a separate line-up and whats so good about it? i use my computer mainly for digital art applications, like photoshop, painter, and pretty soon, cad, 3dstudio max, and maya. THese boards are advertised for these purposes, but im not sure how much of that is the truth,

does anyone know much about these cards?

thats the thing, no one knows anything about this card. i want to hear from someone who might actually own this card or has used it in the past.

Dang...that's a pretty sweet video card. FireGL 7100. wish I would have known about that before I bought my X700...

Zaki said:
thats the thing, no one knows anything about this card. i want to hear from someone who might actually own this card or has used it in the past.

Actually Zaki, I think the Uni I am at have a few machines with those cards in. I'm a games programmer and so I can't give you first hand advice on it, but I have a few friends who are doing the designing side of gaming and they have used it They say it's pretty good. I mean I don't think you'll see the difference between that card and say a Quadro or 7800GTX from nVidia. They did say though that it does actually run Maya slightly better, but remember that you will need excessive amounts of RAM (around the 2GB mark) to get it's best performance.

Hope that helped in any way :S

the deceived said:
Actually Zaki, I think the Uni I am at have a few machines with those cards in. I'm a games programmer and so I can't give you first hand advice on it, but I have a few friends who are doing the designing side of gaming and they have used it They say it's pretty good. I mean I don't think you'll see the difference between that card and say a Quadro or 7800GTX from nVidia. They did say though that it does actually run Maya slightly better, but remember that you will need excessive amounts of RAM (around the 2GB mark) to get it's best performance.

Hope that helped in any way :S