Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 09-21-2006, 05:20 AM   #1
Beta Member

Default Antivirus

Hi all. As I am new to computers, I am wondering if an older antivirus (such as Norton Antivirus 2004) is just as good as Norton's 2006, or if I have to fork out money each year to buy the new version. Also, what software could you generally recommend for a trouble-free installation? I'm running windows xp, and I'll be using the computer for everything. Thanks in advance,

Juggernaut.

juggernaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 05:34 AM   #2
Golden Master

Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Antivirus

IMO ya antivirus is only as good as ya last update, because of the new viruses appearing everyday. Also i would avoid norton coz it is well known for being powerhungry. Im running bit defender at the moment and its really good, kaspersky is canny aswell. Everyone will have their own ideas of whats best tho

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 05:41 AM   #3
Daemon Poster

Send a message via MSN to Toby Send a message via Yahoo to Toby

Quote:
Originally Posted by juggernaut
Hi all. As I am new to computers, I am wondering if an older antivirus (such as Norton Antivirus 2004) is just as good as Norton's 2006, or if I have to fork out money each year to buy the new version. Also, what software could you generally recommend for a trouble-free installation? I'm running windows xp, and I'll be using the computer for everything. Thanks in advance,

Juggernaut.
As far as antivirus goes, it is important not just to update the signatures... But also the product itself, as each new version generally is more capable of detecting new viruses... With better scanning engine's and etc.