Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Join Computer forums Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 04:32 AM   #1
Beta Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Angry Another ROM checksum error thread

Hello everyone and Happy New Year

My problem is when I boot up my HP, it will stop at ROM checksum error and locate a media drive, from there the screen just hangs. I cannot enter the BIOS nor boot from another device (i.e. using Ultimate Boot cd).

I've read some threads regarding checksum errors on this site and seems like it could be almost anything from reseting the BIOS, replacing the battery, all the way to removing all unnesessary devices from the computer and playing trial and error. One thing I saw googling this information was reflashing the BIOS. For whatever the reason for this problem, would reflashing be a solution? Or is it something to omit from the troubleshooting equation.

Overall I know there are some people here who have come across this problem before. I would like their experience in this matter.

Thank you for the help.

My specs are:

HP Pavilion m7650n
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo with Viiv technology
GPU: Intel graphics media accelerator 3000
RAM: 2Gigs
HDD: 320Gigs

R_ACE1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 04:42 AM   #2
Daemon Poster
netBooger's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 557
Send a message via AIM to netBooger Send a message via MSN to netBooger
Default Re: Another ROM checksum error thread

It could be anything from an installed peripheral, a graphics card, or your motherboard.

Do you have any peripheral cards? If so is your graphics card one of them? If so do you have an integrated graphics card?
**If you answered yes to all three, try removing all peripheral cards including your graphics card and see if that works.

If that didn't fix anything then try and flash the bios. Make sure you know what you are doing.

|| Cosmos 1000 || Asus Maximus Formula SE || Q6850 3.00GHz || Zalman 9700NT || BFG 8800GTX OC || 4GB Corsair Dominator 1066mhz || Enermax Galaxy 850W || Windows Vista Ultimate 64 || WD Raptor 150GB x2 + WD Caviar 350GB ||
netBooger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 04:59 AM   #3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 214
Default Re: Another ROM checksum error thread

Reset your BIOS via the jumper\switch
if this fails
Replace your CMOS battery
if this fails
See if you can find out how to flash the BIOS without being able to boot, which you probably cant
if you cant
Check your warranty status. From the looks of it somehow your BIOS became corrupt.
CrazyTiger is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0