Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2014, 10:51 AM   #1
Beta Member
 
Utopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Default Another 'Is This Build Any Good' Thread...

Hello, I've been planning my first build for a while now, and before ordering any parts, would just like to check with all you experts that it will work, is of a decent standard (I'd prefer not to spend masses), if there are any improvements you would make, and if there's anything else I should consider.

My budget is around 500 (sorry for the inconvenience everyone whose not British) but would not going 25 over.

Here's a link to what I'm thinking:
Intel Core i3-4150, Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660, Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (White) - System Build - PCPartPicker

Also, two things: I do not have any desire to overclock now, or in the future, and I am using the hard drive, and optical drive from my previous computer, as I am not bothered about them being super amazing...

Thanks in advance for your time!

Ben
__________________

Utopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 06:30 PM   #2
In Runtime
 
jarlmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 473
Default Re: Another 'Is This Build Any Good' Thread...

Nice build man! I wouldn't change a thing about it. I assume you already have an OS? And you don't want an optical drive?
__________________

jarlmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 07:39 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
BK_123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,530
Default Re: Another 'Is This Build Any Good' Thread...

Yes it looks good. What do you plan on using it for?
BK_123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 07:45 PM   #4
Beta Member
 
Utopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Default Re: Another 'Is This Build Any Good' Thread...

Jarlmaster, I'm not sure on OS's. I'd definitely go Windows 7, but I may be able to get it from a friend- I'm not sure exactly how sharing works, I assume you have to register a computer to the disk, and you can only have a certain amount of computers registered to a single copy. Also, I'll be using the hard drive and optical drive from my current computer.

BK, It's mainly going to be an all rounder... I will be using it for work, but also a bit of gaming. I'm not a serious gamer, I don't have the time, but I would like to be able to play stuff like battlefield, which my current PC simply cannot handle...

Thanks for the heads-up guys!
Utopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 08:42 PM   #5
In Runtime
 
Craig Prince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 475
Send a message via Skype™ to Craig Prince
Default Re: Another 'Is This Build Any Good' Thread...

I made a couple changes that I think is going to make it overall better, so tell me what you think.

Intel Core i3-4150, EVGA GeForce GTX 760, Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (White) - System Build - PCPartPicker

Notice I went with a 760. The reason for this is because you get quite a lot better performance for not much more money.

I also did definitely not change the RAM color...
__________________
PC SPECS: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/zY6yyc
Craig Prince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 09:14 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
BK_123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,530
Default Re: Another 'Is This Build Any Good' Thread...

Wouldn't an 760 and i3 be a bit of bottleneck??
BK_123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 09:55 PM   #7
In Runtime
 
jarlmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 473
Default Re: Another 'Is This Build Any Good' Thread...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BK_123 View Post
Wouldn't an 760 and i3 be a bit of bottleneck??
Not at all. i3 is a solid chip.
jarlmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 05:15 AM   #8
Beta Member
 
Utopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Default Re: Another 'Is This Build Any Good' Thread...

Craig Prince, I think I'll have to stick with my original choice of the GTX 660, as I've just looked up the prices, and the 760 is 60 (~$100) more expensive, which I'm not sure my budget will stretch to. Thanks for the advice though!
Gotta love those crazy RAM colours!

So would you say it's ok, and I can start ordering components for this? Is there enough Wattage for the system? Will everything work together nicely? Etc...

Thanks! (^.^)


Sent from my iPhone using Computer Forums
Utopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 05:23 AM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
BikerEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4,013
Default Re: Another 'Is This Build Any Good' Thread...

Yeah the I3 is solid. Beside games usually isn't that CPU depended.

I agree that a better GPU is in order.

I have chosen the same GPU chip as Crag Prince but on different card.
I chose the Asus 760 direct cu2. It's a little cheaper and performs the same. It's not pre-overclocked.... even though the 760 overclockes it self. But you can adjust the limits of it's auto tune yourself.

I also choose some other RAM. these are 10 bucks cheaper and have identical performance. 1600mhz, CasL 9 using 1,5V.

i saved you 35 Bucks and got same performance.

For those money (+ 10 bucks more) i chose a better PSU. This one is Gold validated and is modular... it also has 50W more.

Here is the build: Intel Core i3-4150, Asus GeForce GTX 760, Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (White) - System Build - PCPartPicker

---------- Post added at 11:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:22 AM ----------

:Utopia

Ohhh. didn't see your new post. I was writing mine when you posted it.
__________________
MOBO: Asus Maximus 6 Hero - GPU: Gigabyte GTX 980ti xtreme - CPU: I7-4770K - PSU: Corsair AX760
RAM: Corsair Vantage 2x4GB - SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 512 + LiteOn LCS-256 - Case: NZXT H440
BikerEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 05:31 AM   #10
Beta Member
 
Utopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Default Re: Another 'Is This Build Any Good' Thread...

BikerEcho, I'm going to also have to stick to my original due to cost... Your GPU is still 50 more expensive than my original, and there is no savings on your choice of RAM... (I'm referring to the prices on scan.co.uk if you're wondering) I just don't think my budget can stretch that far...
__________________

Utopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0