Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Join Computer forums Today

Old 04-28-2007, 09:41 PM   #1
Baseband Member
Default Advice when installing my new CPU.

Alright everyone, I am pretty much building my new CPU, not completely, but most parts. I am keeping my old motherboard and heatsink, and adding a new AMD x2 4200+ 939 socket. This is my first time replacing a CPU, I do have some experience with building computers, but this is a first for me. I am wondering mostly about the thermal paste. I will order a small tube of it, but I watched a lot of instructional videos on where/how to put it on, but I still find it confusing. Now, to my knowledge so far, under the heatsink there is a small plastic square, for heat protection on the processor. Do I put a small dab on that, then rub it on lightly? Where exactly do I put it... I am confused. If I put it on the processor, do I just put it on the top of the unit itself? All help is needed, along with any other advice that will help me out when I install my new CPU.

Thanks, and you all are really great, several computer problems have already been solved by using this forum.

- Cory.

cory551 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 09:50 PM   #2
Daemon Poster
Default Re: Advice when installing my new CPU.

i would recommend buying artic silver 5 thermal paste, and there are some great step by step instructions for applying it to your cpu on their website....http://www.arcticsilver.com/instructions.htm

Antec 300 Case, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3GHz, Gigabyte GA-EP43-UD3L, PNY 4GB PC6400 800MHz DDR2 RAM, XFX Radeon HD 5550 1GB DDR3 Ram, 1TB Western Digital Black 7200 32MB cache, 64-bit Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, Antec Earthwatts 500 Watts
thebigdintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 09:53 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
Default Re: Advice when installing my new CPU.