$600 Dollar Budget PC

FatMan1

Baseband Member
I'm planning to build my computer just for listening to music, web surfing, watching dvds, and burning music/dvds.

Just need an average video card.

So this is what I made up so far.

MSI PM8M-V Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - $48.00
Intel Pentium 4 2.4A 533MHz FSB Socket 478 Processor - $120.00
CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM - $81.00
SAPPHIRE Radeon 9600 ATLANTIS RADEON 256 mb- $68.00
Diamond XtremeSound XS71 Sound Card - $29.00
LITE-ON Black 16X DVD-ROM 52X CD-R 32X CD-RW 52X CD-ROM - $27.99
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 80GB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - $63.00

Now I just need a case. But I have no idea what a good case is. I'd like it to have some fans and a built in power supply if it is possible.

This is my first time building a computer so I'm not going all out. I'm thinking this as a training project.

Thanks guys.

You have a nice looking system- when it's done :D
Most caseses come with a power supply. The problem is, they usually come with a cheap power supply. You may want to upgrade the power supply in the case to at least 500W or maybe even 650W, depending on if you ever plan to upgrade. For a case, you can find plenty of cool ones out there, but I would look for something with at least 1 90mm fan in the front (if not two), a 80mm fan on the side, and a least an area to place two 80mm fans on the back. You need to keep your system very cool- and P4- runs HOT :eek: Personally, I would go with AMD- better price, better performance, and you can't ask for much more out of a processor ;)

pctechmike said:
You have a nice looking system- when it's done :D