Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 02-23-2006, 09:37 PM   #1
Baseband Member

Default 250W PS with a Radeon x700 Pro

ok, I'm new to computer hardware and installing new hardware. My current power supply is 250W and I'm looking to buy a new video card (ATI Radeon x700 Pro). But, the card says a 300W power supply or greater is recommended.

If I install the card with my 250W PS will it even work at all? Or will I have to dish out some extra money for a new PS?

Thanks.

jbs4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 09:39 PM   #2
In Runtime

Default Re: 250W PS with a Radeon x700 Pro

It'll probably work. But you'll be drawing to much power so the fail safe connections will stop running. Generally the monitor. You need to have at least what it specifies to guaruntee that it'll work correctly. So yea, i would recommend you buy a better PSU. Thats the same problem I'm about to run into, the GPU i want requires a 475w psu. While i only have 305w in my rig now.

ATI Radeon X600 Pro 256mb Hyper Memory
P4 2.8ghz w/ HT
Insunna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 09:47 PM   #3
Fully Optimized

Send a message via AIM to joe pic Send a message via MSN to joe pic Send a message via Yahoo to joe pic

yeah...you'll definitely need a greater power supply if you want to get the most of that card.
joe pic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 10:15 PM   #4
Golden Master

Send a message via AIM to alvino

It depends on how much power your system is sipping overall. If it's not that much, then it should be fine. If you're nearly at the limit, buy a new one. Actually to be safe, just buy one...maybe about 450w-500w should be fine. Why? Because it provides lots of overhead for future upgrades.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 10:26 PM   #5
Baseband Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvino