I'm geting a high fps but my screen is lagging

Joe Drage

Solid State Member
Hello,

I hope i have posted in the right place, it's my first time :)
I built a gaming pc a few months ago but there is a slight problem..

Here are my specs:

Intel Core i7 1790 processor
Geforce gtx 970
8gb Corsair RAM
120gb SSD
600 watt power supply
MSI Z97S SLI PLUS motherboard

When I am playing all games, such as minecraft I am getting a lower fps than what it is saying.. For instance when I start recording I limit the fps to 30 fps however it looks like I'm getting 15 fps? When I look back at the footage it shows that I am not lagging at all? It does this regardless of whether I am recording or not. I would think a 4gb graphics card would be able to put up with more than 30fps without lagging wouldn't you?

Any help with this problem would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Joe :D

Hey sup :D

What kinda monitor/TV are you using?

Check the refresh rate under the Change Resolution in the nVidia Control Panel. 4GB of video memory is more than enough, and the video chip your using too.

Hi thanks for the quick reply! :D

I'm using a 21 inch tv with hdmi on it (mhdmi to hdmi lead from computer)
I am getting 3 acer computer monitors for Christmas so I'll see if it just this tv. I'll post again when I get them to see if the problem has been solved :)

Cool.

I have a feeling it is the input lag that is the problem. It does not slow, but give the image later than actual action. I could be wrong tho.

Don't forget to use the 120Hz refresh rate with V-Sync turned off in your first try on those new monitors.

I use three Samsung monitors and a 60" Smart TV hooked to my computer :D

Hello,

Sorry for the very late reply!!! I got 3 new screens for christmas hoping the problem would be solved but no I have no idea what it is?