school needs help stopping hackers

liquidmonkey

In Runtime
i work as a math teacher (90%) and computer guy (10%) at a school and on our computers we are using windows XP which is run from another company on a network. in order to access the computers you must login and your own password. i'm sure you know the login screen. without this you cannot access anything OR so i thought.
kids have been getting into the computers, reseting the BIOS passwords (how they got in is beyond me), putting in Power Up passwords and such, one kid even installed a totally different version of windows. this is a problem and i would like to know a technical solution on 1) how to stop the kids from doing this and 2) how are they able to do this?
i'm no hacker / cracker and only work on the computers at the school 2 hours a week so i don't have a lot of time to deal with these problems in depth.
can someone out there please help me?

With the problems you describe, I think you should seriously ask your school to install CCTV in your computer suites.

At least you'll be able to punish those responsible, if not prevent it.

The kids are accessing the BIOS probably by (you won't believe this) opening the case. Sounds daring, I know. They're probably opening the case and removing the CMOS battery from the motherboard. This makes the motherboard "forget" the BIOS settings, including the password, thus enabling the kids access to the boot sequence, allowing them to boot from CD to install different Windows.

To be honest, why they would want to is totally beyond me.

Yes, a lock for the case would do, hmm opening th case and resetting the BIOS password sure is becoming much more common these days ... not sure why though

Not even a lock on the case, although its a great idea; lock the rooms and supervise the children when they're in the rooms?

ok time for me to come a bit clean ....
1)yes i know how to pick locks (use google)
2) no you don't need to open the case.