What are the main purposes of all programming languages?

StratosP

Fully Optimized
Eg..

C++ is mainly for creative/programming <insert here> etc

I want to learn C++ in future..I am new at this and since I am 13, I think it will be good since I start young and I can further develop my skills overtime. All I know is a tiny tiny tiny bit of Visual Basic..like I can make a windows customizable pop-up come up at start up and a script the makes the CD-Rom open and close until the process is stopped.

So list all the purposes of all the programming languages because I want to find the one suitable for me like creating games, websites, software and using the coding maybe even in hardware.

Thank you!
-StratosP

All languages can do pretty much anything. C++ is pretty common just about everwhere, and with the correct tools and be put into webpages although that is uncommon.

Really the only two that tend to stick out from the rest are JAVA and HTML as they dominate the webpage based programs/webpage creation.

Well, the purpose of programming languages is to create things that will allow users to utilize their computers to do more and more things as programmers become more advanced. Everything you use has been programmed using some sort of programming language. Like celegorm stated, the internet is almost dominated by HTML and Java. Most "regular" programs are coded using C++, DX, VB, and many others. Some programs are created of two languages used in combination. A common example is C++ and DX. Plenty of games are created using those two languages.