Pointers Help

CNerd2025

Solid State Member
I am very new to C/C++, and for that matter, to this board as well.

I understand most of the concepts of each, and the difference between them. However, I am having trouble with pointers. I do not understand what they do, and I don't understand what the heap andstack are. I've seen different definitions of each, and I'd like an actuall programmer to set me straight. I've read in various books/tutorials that once you understand pointers you've pretty much mastered the language.

I'd be very grateful for any help. Thanks!

--Drew

I'll try my best to explain......

Hi Drew,

I'm not really an experienced programmer, but I understand how pointers work and how pointers make C/C++ a powerful language :D, and I'll try my best to explain them!

By definition, pointers are variables which store the *memory addresses* of other variables. Why "once you understand pointers you've pretty much mastered the language?" It is because pointers are unique and powerful tool which gives the programmers much control in a convenient way (and that's why I chose C++ instead of Java :D). For example, you use pointers to create a dynamic arrays (since you cannot use a variable to declare an array, e.g. int anArray = int[anotherVar];) which size can be declared with variables. In short, pointers make a program more sufficient by allowing the programmers to handle the addresses of a variable instead of the actual objects (which may be huge, wasting computer resources). Like you can pass the addresses to other function, then the code inside the function can call the actual objects using the address (unlike the actual object, which takes only few bytes or less).