C++ Compiler Reads C Source Codes

eddykk

Beta member
Hello everyone.

I am an amateur of both C++ and C programs. So, I need help.

So far, what I've heard from cprogramming.com

is that "You should note that if you are programming in C on a C++ compiler, then you will want to make sure that your compiler attempts to compile C instead of C++ to avoid small compatability issues in later tutorials."

So, i'm wondering,

1) What specific problems would there be if C++ compiler tends to read C programming codes?

Anyway, the important thing is:

2) Can I continue doing my work permanently with C++ compiler for C programming codes instead of using C compiler?

I currently have Microsoft Visual C++ in hand. If this is possible, then I don't have to get another C compiler for my C program files.

Details from you people are much appreciated. Thank you in advance for helping out.

Woah. Where are you people? Where's your spirit of helping people in need? Why is there no reply? Is it because of my annoying green-colour text formatting? There, I've changed it to default. :D

Anyway, I've the answer to my problem from another different forum.

But, the thing is, now I've another different problem.

Take a look, here's what I got from the other forum (BOLD) and my reply to it (ITALIC):

If you name your C files using a .c file extension, then, by default, VC++ will compile them in "C mode" and not in "C++ mode."

An alternative is to set a compiler setting inside of your project settings so that it will force ANSI C.

If you really want to know more about the problems that "C" programs can have when being compiled with a C++ compiler, you can use the MSDN to take a look at "__declspec" to see what it says in the help files.

If you just want to avoid those problems, it is probably better to name your files using a .c file extension and check your project settings for ANSI compatibility. In other words, yes, you can use your VC++ compiler.

:davis:

Thanks for replying, davis.