New Graphics Card or Overclock

bismarck66

Beta member
Alright I'm new to the forum and while I have some knowledge of computers and what makes them tick I am quite far from being an expert. Sorry in advance for the long winded story but I like to be as clear as possible.

My computer recently died and I brought it in too be fixed, they replaced the power supply (Elite Power 400W) and had to do the same to the graphics card (Radeon HD5450) as the fan was going on it. Having seen the bill for the repairs it has re-ignited my interest to learn more about them so I don't have to bring it to a shop again.

Now I mostly use the computer for gaming and the one game I play most often is World Of Tanks (Great game by the way) and at the moment I'm getting on avg 15-20 FPS with everything on its lowest setting. So my question to you guys is as the title suggests should I go out and buy a new card or overclock the one I have now?.

Specs are as follows
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64x2 Duak Core Processor 4200+2.20 Ghz
System Type: 32-bit Operating System
Graphics Card: Radeon HD5450
Power Supply: Elite Power 400w

Please let me know if any more information is required and I will try and provide it for you and thank you beforehand for your assistance.

i don't think overclocking that old thing will do any good. only increase the electricity cost of using the system.
As all above stated: get a new system.