wired broadband connection connected wirelessly to second laptop

paddy1nz

Solid State Member
Hi all,

This is my first post - and I'm very new to this computer networking stuff. I currently have a desktop PC and a dialup connection. In the next few weeks I'm looking to also buy a laptop and upgrade to a wired broadband connection. Now, I'll probably get the broadband before the laptop. Thing is that when I buy the laptop, it'll be in a room not too close to the PC. I want to know if it's possible for me to connect the laptop to the same broadband connection as the desktop PC. It's not possible for me to thread cables along the ground. I was reading something about it being possible for the desktop PC to be wired physically to the connection, and the laptop to be wirelessly connected to the connection (without an increase in monthly price!). Is this possible? Could someone please explain in layman's terms? Thanks!

P.

Well the easiest route would be to buy a wireless modem router which would cost about £30-£40 and then wire the desktopto that and wirelessly connect the laptop to that as well . If you need help setting it up please ask here cos loads of people will be willing to help

It's not possible for me to thread cables along the ground. I was reading something about it being possible for the desktop PC to be wired physically to the connection, and the laptop to be wirelessly connected to the connection (without an increase in monthly price!). Is this possible?

Yes it's possible. However, you need a wireless ethernet broadband router to do this. Usually desktops are hardwired (using cat5 cable) and notebooks/laptops are wireless for portability of course. If you wanted to make your desktop computer wireless you could also do this but you would need a wireless card in the tower. Instead of the usual NIC card.