Need help! Wont stay connected!

tucker451

Solid State Member
I built a computer not to long ago from parts sitting around my dads girlfriends house that she had bought for her son and he never used, and parts from an HP desktop that the MB shi* the bed on me a couple of years ago. I'm not a pro but have pretty basic knowledge and can usually diagnose my own problems but this one has me stumped.

The build (forgive me for not knowing some things):
Windows: Windows 7 Home Premium x64
MOBO: Intel DP55WG
CPU: Intel core i7 860 @2.8GHz
RAM: 8GB
Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350
Power: Corsair TX650Watt
HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB SATA 7200 64MB
Network: Netgear WNA3100

The problem: I don't have a network card ATM so all I have is the NG wireless adapter. Installed with the factory ROM and later updated with netgears "driver genie". When I boot up the adapter does not connect to my home network that is saved to the network and sharing center. If I unplug the adapter and plug it back in it will connect, sometimes. Sometimes the little blue light that shows it is connect will light up but very faintly and it will not connect. If I unplug the adapter and wait a few minutes and plug it back in, it will connect again. Then after it has been connected for a while it will randomly disconnect itself. When this happens i sometimes have to close applications that are connected to the internet such as Firefox. Sometimes I can just unplug/plug back in and keep going. Also I purchased Guild Wars 2 when it came out and have had no luck playing it because when I go to launch the game my internet quits no matter what. If I shut the game window and reset the adapter i regain internet access. I have uninstalled/reinstalled the driver multiple times with no luck.

Does anyone have any clues or more questions that could help you help me?

Thanks
Tucker

does the netgear router give you any other problems on the other hardware that connects to it?