Win32

cedex

Solid State Member
Okay I dont know too much about computers, I mean i can format if i have to and maybe even build one, but i wouldnt try it yet, im still learning.

I just had a comp built for me, my cousin made it for me and he installed everything

so far he installed windows xp
zone alarm security suite
ad-aware pro

He told me to download the windows service pack 1
So i did last night, I left it on to download, i woke up and shutdown the computer

So today when i woke up, I turned the computer on and it took a while, he said it would since i downloaded the service pack, but when it started, it said something alongs the lines of "the file or folder win32 is corrupted, please run chksomething," i ran what it was (cant remember and im at work so i cant check) and it scanned or whatever but it went fast so i couldnt read it, anyway thats the message i got, it wasnt a big error message, just at the bottom right where it usually says if i had new harware or whatnot and i also got an error message for zone alarm, it said the firewall.zap had a problem, but thats the only thing that doesnt work, everything else does.

I called my cousin and he said that my windows directory is coruppted but he couldnt explain much more because he had to leave and hes gonna be gone for a week

anyone know what the problem is, how it happened, and how i can fix it

im reluctant to reinstall becaue even though i could get a copy for a bootdisk and xp, i cant get all the programs he installed and all that

Yep - leaving it on overnight is a dreadful idea without SP1 on.