Reformat??

copiman

In Runtime
I want to clean a hard drive that has a corrupted vista on it. Then install Windows 7. What is the best way to clean the hard drive before installing 7? I have never done this before. Also I noticed that the C: is the recovery and the D: is the other. I guess this would not really matter since I wiping it clean, right? Need your thoughts and guidance.

I've use Dban just download it burn an iOS image boot off cd hit autonuke and wait. Works good haven't ha a problem with it yet.

Go to the driver maker's website and download the tools they offer to wipe the drive and reformat it.

Thanks everyone for your response.Tried both tools from the manufacture website. One says " the selected drive is your Windows system and must not be erased". The other will not load. It says "this can occur if windows installer service is not correctly installed". This PC has a lot of issues. Thought wiping it and loading a better OS would be the ticket. Would rather have 7 anyway. Any thoughts?

Personally I think windows 7 is better then vista did you download Dban?

When you load up the Windows installation disc, Click on custom when it asks you to either upgrade or custom and click on the drive and then click format.

When you load up the Windows installation disc, Click on custom when it asks you to either upgrade or custom and click on the drive and then click format.

Yea, that'll be fine for what you're trying to do. Unless you're trying to completely destroy data, you don't need to use a third party piece of software for formatting.

Yea, that'll be fine for what you're trying to do. Unless you're trying to completely destroy data, you don't need to use a third party piece of software for formatting.