radeon 9600 series (128) WILL IT WORK ON ON MY PC?

Impulz

Solid State Member
Im still a bit of a newbie, and was after some help....

Im about to purchase a new machine soon from this old now PC, but am also keeping this computer as a second/experimental PC

A friend from work is selling his video card (ATI radeon 9600 series AGP(0x4150)
internal DAC (400mhz) 128 MB

I have Pentium 4 1.8 with 512 SDRAM
on an ASUS P4B-M motherboard.

I was just wondering if the video card my friend is selling will be compatible with my system or is it too old and will not be comaptible?

I currently have a Eagle GE-Force 2MX 400 64MB with TV out for the video card.

The main thing that concerns me is that the radeon which he is selling states AGP and ATI...could someone please explain me what those two terms exactly mean and wether my PC would have these?

(I have Everest and could look it up)

Much thnx

Pat

agp stands for advanced graphics port. your graphics card slots in it. it revolutionised computer graphics about a decade ago, giving dedicated graphics interface instead of using pci slots. your agp as tommy says is the brown one.

ati is a graphics chip producer. ati and nvidia are the two major graphics chip producers in the world.

jay8990 said:
agp stands for advanced graphics port. your graphics card slots in it. it revolutionised computer graphics about a decade ago, giving dedicated graphics interface instead of using pci slots. your agp as tommy says is the brown one.

ati is a graphics chip producer. ati and nvidia are the two major graphics chip producers in the world.

Ahh thats right, thnx for the help!

Looks like that card will work no probs!

You should see a big boost in gaming from that card from what you have aleady.

I used to have a Geforce 2 MX400 too, though went straight to the 9800 Pro.

Even though the 9600 is a slower card, you'll def see boosts so isn't bad at all.