Novice Help - Question #1

RKeaton

Baseband Member
I'm just presuming that there will be many more to follow.....

I recently bought a new PC. It's an HP m7330n Media Center model. The main reason I got it was as an upgrade - the system I had before was a good 4 or 5 years old, maybe a tad older. It had an Athlon 1100mhz processor and 256 mb of RAM. I wanted something new and fast.

Aside from being on the internet a lot I also edit lots of photos in Photoshop as I am a sports photographer. This new system has an AMD Dual Core processor, the 4200+ model and 1 gig of RAM. I like it fine, but to be honest overall this computer doesn't feel that much faster to me than my old one. I'm trying to figure out why.

One guess, tell me if it might be right: I had read a review by one purchaser of this PC who said it came with so much pre-installed crap on it that it wasn't that fast at first, but that after he 'cleaned it up' it's blazing fast. Indeed, there are a whole bunch of silly games and other junk on there. I deleted some by just going to control panel, add or remove programs. But I don't really know how to do much more than that. It's hard to tell - at least to me - what some of the programs in that list are and whether or not I should delete them as the names are a bit vague.

And most of all, will it really speed up my system if I just delete programs? I don't know anything, but it would seem to me that I mainly want to delete anything that is running in the background that I don't need. How do I know what's running automatically and what isn't? If I open the Task Manager thing and click 'processes' it says there are something like 52 processes. But I don't really even know what a 'process' is, do they slow things down?